Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes ofwebsite accessibility
MENU

Krispy Kreme launching limited-edition Mars rover doughnut

Screen Shot 2021-02-17 at 9.02.44 AM.png
Photo: CNN Newsource

WASHINGTON (SBG) — Krispy Kreme is launching a new out-of-this-world treat in honor of the new Mars rover landing Thursday.

The delicious limited-edition confection will be filled with caramel and chocolate cream, then covered with a red swirl. Creators wanted the doughnut to bear a slight resemblance to the red planet.

<="" sd-embed="">

NASA asked the public to send their names to the space agency as part of a campaign that would include the list on the Rover during its journey on Mars. Anyone who can show the NASA-issued boarding pass as proof their name is included on the list will receive their Mars Rove edition doughnut for free!

Nearly 11 million names were submitted to NASA in the "send your name to Mars" campaign. That's a lot of doughnuts!

But customers will have to act fast as the offer is only available on Feb. 18.

The Mars Perseverance rover is expected to land on Thursday at 11:15 a.m. PST / 2:15 p.m. EST / 19:15 UTC. Its mission while on the planet will be to look for signs of ancient life and collect samples of rock and soil that will be returned to earth.

Explore the Perseverance rover below:

A rover has not landed on the planet since the Curiosity mission in 2012.